PoolCoverDrive

Installed once, sealed twice.

Framo Morat’s new PoolCoverDrive equipped with the AQUASEAL Technique has been developed specially for use as a drive for underwater swimming pool covers. These drives are installed under water and must therefore be 100% watertight.
And exactly this feature makes Framo Morat’s new PoolCoverDrive stand out – because each of our drives is submitted before delivery to a 100% leakage test in the test stand developed specially for this purpose!

The use of a high-quality double-walled stainless steel housing ensures maximum resistance against chlorine and seawater. A double enclosure and redundant sealing of all mechanical interfaces ensure long-term tightness at a water depth of 2.5m

Every two years, the trade journal “Schwimmbad + Sauna”, Europe’s largest pool & spa magazine, decerns the Golden Wave Award. This prize honors, in eight categories, companies of the swimming pool sector for their outstanding innovations. We are proud that our PoolCoverDrive, developed in co-operation with Bieri Alpha Covers and known in this Company under the name “Nautilus F2”, has bee distinguished with the Golden Wave Award 2015 in the category “Roofs and Covers”.

Technique

The ideal drive for underwater pool covers

Zero maintenance and long-term watertightness are the indispensable prerequisites for an electrical drive that is to operate with perfect reliability under water – no problem for Framo Morat’s PoolCoverDrive equipped with the Aquaseal Technique!

PoolCoverDrive - Technical Data

Maximum
output torque
300 Nm
Static
holding torque
350 Nm
Output speed2,8 rpm at 300 Nm
Idling output speed3,5 rpm
Reduction ratio1000:1
Total drive weight17,5 kg
ProtectionIP 68*

* tested operating conditions: water depth 2.5 m, interval operation, test duration 18 months

 

Construction

  • Exclusively high-quality materials (316L stainless steel, POM) are used for all parts that are directly in contact with the water. This guarantees highest reliability and a maximum service life.
  • Two housings sealed independently of each other minimise the risk of a leakage.
  • High-quality seals ensure maximum safety at every relevant location.
  • The DryPack prevents the formation of condensation water inside the housing.

Mounting

Caution:
On many other drives, in case of incorrect mounting of the drive disk (insufficient axial play), thermal expansion of the winding shaft can apply unallowably high axial loads to the output shaft, which can lead to the blocking of the gear and / or to leakages.

This is why our PoolCoverDrive is equipped with an axial load limitation integrated in the drive disk, which avoids unallowably high axial loads on the output shaft, even in case of an installation without axial play.
This results in a significantly facilitated installation, which in the same time leads to higher safety in operation and less downtime.

Installations

Concept of an underwater pool cover

Underwater pool covers are without any doubt the most elegant solution for covering swimming pools, since their use does in no way affect the idyllic landscape of the swimming pool. While the opened cover lies directly on the surface of the water, it disappears discreetly under water when it is rolled up. The electrical drive is mounted directly in the pool and can thus easily be retrofitted or modified. The long-term operation under water poses a basic requirement with respect to the drive: absolute watertightness!

Covering pools - why?

  • A pool cover ensures more safety for people and for animals.
  • The use of pool covers reduces significantly water contamination.
  • Covering the pools allows saving a large part of maintenance costs for energy (heating / air drying in case of indoor pools) and water treatment (chemicals and cleaning), a suitable pool even helps heating the pool up.

Underwater pool cover roll-up systems

Underwater pool covers allow covering not only rectangular standard pools, but also most of the free-shape pools.
Various solutions are available, depending on the structural requirements and the personal preferences (see ex. 1-7).

Retrofitting

Underwater pool cover roll-up systems equipped with a drive mounted directly inside the winding shaft can easily be retrofitted in existing pools, either with a flange screwed in the sidewall in case of concrete or masonry pools (ex.1), or mounted between two stainless steel plates for liner or GRP pools (ex.2).

Conclusion

Underwater pool cover roll-up systems offer many advantages compared with other solutions:

  • The pool cover is only visible when it is in use.
  • Also irregular pool shapes can be covered perfectly.
  • Retrofitting or modifying is generally possible without any problem.

So why are not all pool systems equipped with underwater pool cover roll-up systems? One of the reasons is the fact that, with this construction, the drive is installed constantly under water, and that, with time, many drives loose their most important characteristic – watertightness.

Framo Morat’s PoolCoverDrive, equipped with the Aquaseal Technique puts an end to this weakness. The structural design of the drive and the use of high-quality materials ensure long-term watertightness – and therefore make the underwater pool cover roll-up systems all the more attractive.

PoolCoverDrive

Einfach montiert, zweifach dicht!

Der neue PoolCoverDrive von Framo Morat mit AQUASEAL-Technik wurde speziell für den Einsatz als Antrieb für Unterflur-Schwimmbadabdeckungen entwickelt. Diese sind unter Wasser montiert und müssen daher 100% dicht sein.
Und genau diese Eigenschaft zeichnet den neuen PoolCoverDrive von Framo Morat aus – denn jeder unserer Antriebe wird vor der Auslieferung einer 100%-Dichtheitsprüfung im eigens hierfür eingerichteten Prüfstand unterzogen!

Durch die Verwendung eines hochwertigen doppelwandigen Edelstahlgehäuses wird eine maximale Beständigkeit gegen Chlor- und Seewasser gewährleistet. Eine Doppelumhausung sowie redundante Abdichtungen aller mechanischen Schnittstellen sorgen für dauerhafte Dichtheit bei 2,5 m Wassertiefe.

Im zweijährlichen Turnus verleiht die Fachzeitschrift „Schwimmbad + Sauna“, Europas größtes Pool & Spa Magazin, den Golden Wave Award. Hier werden Unternehmen der Schwimmbadbranche, die mit Innovationen auf sich aufmerksam gemacht haben, in acht Kategorien ausgezeichnet. Wir sind stolz, dass unser PoolCoverDrive, der in Zusammenarbeit mit Bieri Alpha Covers entwickelt wurde und dort unter dem Namen „Nautilus F2“ bekannt ist, mit dem Golden Wave Award 2015 in der Kategorie „Überdachungen und Abdeckungen“ gekürt wurde.

Technik

Der ideale Antrieb für Unterflur-Schwimmbadabdeckungen

Wartungsfreiheit und langfristige Dichtheit sind die unabdingbare Voraussetzung für einen elektrischen Antrieb, der unter Wasser seine zuverlässigen Dienste verrichten soll –kein Problem für den PoolCoverDrive mit Aquaseal-Technik von Framo Morat!

PoolCoverDrive - Technische Daten

Maximales Abtriebsdrehmoment300 Nm
Statisches Haltemoment350 Nm
Abtriebsdrehzahl2,8 U/min bei 300 Nm
Leerlauf-Abtriebsdrehzahl3,5 U/min
Übersetzung1000:1
Gesamtgewicht Antrieb17,5 kg
SchutzartIP 68*

* getestete Einsatzbedingungen: 2,5 m Wassertiefe, Intervallbetrieb, Testdauer 18 Monate

Aufbau

  • Für alle Teile, die direkt mit Wasser in Berührung kommen, werden ausschließlich hochwertige Werkstoffe verwendet (Edelstahl 316L, POM). Das garantiert höchste Zuverlässigkeit und maximale Lebensdauer.
  • Zwei unabhängig voneinander abgedichtete Gehäuse minimieren die Gefahr einer Leckage.
  • An jeder relevanten Stelle sorgen hochwertige Dichtungen für maximale Sicherheit.
  • Das DryPack verhindert die Bildung von Kondenswasser innerhalb des Gehäuses.

Montage

Achtung:
Bei vielen anderen Antrieben kann durch die thermische Ausdehnung der Wickelwelle bei falscher Montage der Mitnehmerscheibe (zu wenig Axialluft) die Abtrieswelle mit unzulässig hohen Axiallasten belastet werden, was zu einer Blockade des Getriebes und / oder Undichtigkeit führen kann.

Daher verfügt unser PoolCoverDrive über eine in der Mitnehmerscheibe integrierte Axiallastbegrenzung die auch bei Montage ohne Axialluft eine unzulässig hohe Axialbelastung der Abtriebswelle verhindert.
Dies resultiert in einer erheblich erleichterten Montage, die gleichzeitig zu höherer Betriebssicherheit und weniger Ausfallzeiten führt.

Anlagen

Konzept Unterflur-Abdeckung

Unterflurabdeckungen sind zweifelsfrei die eleganteste Lösung zur Abdeckung von Swimming Pools, da durch deren Einsatz das idyllische Bild der Badelandschaft nicht gestört wird. Während die geöffnete Abdeckung direkt auf der Wasseroberfläche aufliegt, verschwindet sie beim Aufrollen dezent im Wasser. Der elektrische Antrieb wird direkt im Pool montiert und kann somit einfach nach- oder umgerüstet werden. Der dauerhafte Einsatz unter Wasser stellt eine grundlegende Anforderung an den Antrieb: Absolute Dichtheit!

Poolabdeckung - warum?

  • Eine Poolabdeckung bringt zusätzliche Sicherheit für Mensch und Tier.
  • Durch die Verwendung von Poolabdeckungen wird die Verschmutzung des Wassers deutlich reduziert.
  • Durch die Abdeckung lässt sich ein Großteil der Unterhaltskosten für Energie (Heizung / Lufttrocknung bei Hallenbädern) und Wasserbehandlung (Chemikalien und Reinigung) einsparen, der Pool lässt sich mit entsprechender Abdeckung sogar erwärmen.

Unterflur-Abrollsysteme

Mit Unterflurabdeckungen lassen sich nicht nur rechteckige Standardbecken sondern auch die meisten Freiformbecken abdecken.
Je nach baulichen Gegebenheiten und persönlichen Präferenzen gibt es dafür unterschiedliche Lösungen (siehe Bsp. 1-7).

Nachrüstung

Unterflur-Abrollsysteme mit Antrieb direkt in der Wickelwelle lassen sich einfach in vorhandene Pools nachrüsten, sei es mit einem festverschraubten Flansch in der Seitenwand bei betonierten oder gemauerten Pools (Bsp.1), oder durch Einhängen der Abdeckung über zwei Edelstahlplatten bei Folienpools bzw. bei GFK Pools (Bsp.2).

Fazit

Unterflur-Abrollsysteme bieten zahlreiche Vorteile gegenüber anderen Lösungen:

  • Die Poolabdeckung ist nur sichtbar, wenn Sie im Einsatz ist.
  • Auch unregelmäßige Pool-Formen lassen sich passgenau schließen.
  • Eine Nach- oder Umrüstung lässt sich in der Regel problemlos durchführen.

Warum werden also nicht alle Poolanlagen mit Unterflur-Abrollsystemen ausgerüstet? Ein Grund dafür ist, dass bei dieser Bauweise die Antriebe dauerhaft unter Wasser angebracht sind und viele Antriebe mit der Zeit ihre wichtigste Eigenschaft – nämlich die Dichtheit – einbüßen.

Der PoolCoverDrive von Framo Morat mit Aquaseal-Technik macht Schluss mit dieser Schwäche. Der konstruktive Aufbau des Antriebs sowie die Verwendung von hochwertigen Werkstoffen generieren langfristige Dichtheit – und machen die Unterflur-Abrollsysteme umso attraktiver.

Scroll to Top